For those who follow the UK pop punk band, As It Is on social media then you know how slightly active the band was until four days ago. They announced their new album, Okay to be released on Jan. 20, 2017 and streamed their lead single, “Okay.”

They began their ‘teasing’ by posting a series of pictures on Instagram that formed this picture when they were put together:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soon after, they released lyrics to their lead single, “Okay,” ‘I don’t think that I’m okay.” Along with that, they posted a variety of pictures that look like they were taken in the 1950s with the reoccurring logo that said, ‘Happy Co.’

Finally, on Sept. 22 they announced their album and single and “Okay” was streamed through their label, Fearless Records.

As for the song, I am enjoying their sound that their second album will take on. It’s still true to the sound from Never Happy, but with a new twist that I can’t seem to identify. Whatever it is, I’m liking it.

Vocalist, Patty Walter’s voice sounds as if it is improving as they continue and grow as a band. I already loved how it sounds in their previous songs, but I am enjoying it even more in this song. My only slight problem is the lyrics are not as complex as their previous songs, they are more simplified. That was a bit of a disappointment since I am used to their unique writing style and lyricism. So, I hope that continues on the other songs from this record.

Needless to say, I am a huge fan of this band and this single. I, along with other fans, have been long awaiting new material from them and this makes me excited for the rest of the record.

Rating: 8/10

 

2 thoughts on “As It Is – “Okay” review

Leave a Reply

